Mattel says talking doll doesn’t promote Islam

A cooing baby doll or a toy with a religious message?

The toy company Mattel has fielded calls from consumers who wonder whether their Little Mommy Cuddle ‘n Coo doll, which giggles, gurgles and coos, is also mumbling, “Islam is the light.”  >>>>>

Let’s hope Western parents don’t seek a refund for their own kids if after hearing them mumble something innocent, yet irks the parents’ bigoted leanings.  Maybe the parents were offended by the hijab.  It seems like even dolls lost their ‘freedom of speech’ and ‘religious freedom’ after the Patriot Act —  In the meantime, I could probably use a few cases of these dolls, (for families of children who don’t fear baby talk) – at wholesale rates of course.

34 Responses to Mattel says talking doll doesn’t promote Islam

  1. Frog says:

    I work at Wal-Mart so I was able to sit down and listen to the doll. Everything the doll says IS giggles and gurgles, AND it is distorted. But when it come to the part where everyone is freaking out… It is VERY clear. When I would walk by the dolls they would start talking and I called them “freaky dolls” guess I was right. lol.

  2. Traci says:

    I was going to buy one for my daughter, however I heard it very very clearly say Islam is the Light. I thought maybe it was the batteries were weak so I tried a different one of these dolls and heard it again. It is VERY VERY clear, my mother heard it, I heard it, people around me heard it. I wouldn’t mind a doll which makes religious statements if it was advertised as such.

  3. CHRISTIN says:

    I THINK THAT SOMETHINGS HAPPEN FOR A REASON, MATTEL OBVIOUSLY WOULDNT MASS PRODUCE SUCH THINGS IF THEY KNEW WHAT IT SAID BEING PEOPLE ARE SOO IGNORANT ABOUT ISLAM. MAYBE WE SHOULD LISTEN TO THE MESSAGE! IF IT SAID CHRISTIANITY IS THE LIGHT OR JUDAISM IS THE WAY WOULD ANY ONE MAKE SUCH A BIG DEAL? I DONT THINK SO! I DONT SE ANYTHING NEGATIVE ABOUT THIS MESSAGE!

  4. Emilio says:

    LOL I cant stop laughing at this it shouldn’t be taking it that serious. maybe its a subliminal message. Like the song stairway to heaven. Maybe Mattel wanted to market these for middle eastern countries and put in the wrong package. I don’t know either way freedom of expression is the way to go. I just can’t stop thinking of the situations where this doll wouldn’t be funny. Honestly people should stop being so paranoid other than the fact that this doll is creepy looking in itself.

  5. Hate Elmo says:

    I work at Target.
    The dolls have motion sensors in them.
    You pass them, and sometimes they’ll just gurgle and coo, and sometimes they’ll just say “Islam is the Light” sometimes both.
    My friend bought one because he thought it would be recalled and he was going to sell it on Ebay.
    Instead of recalling the dolls, it seems the Target has gotten MORE of them.
    Now there is an aisle that has like 5 dolls that all go off when you pass.
    Now I’m starting to think that Islam is the Light, and I’m wondering, does that make me a terrorist?
    If there is a subliminal part, the gurgle and cooing, I think it’s “Murder, Murder, Islam is the Light.” Something makes me think that.
    Also, what if these dolls have BOMBS in them?
    Maybe terrorists have infiltrated the Mattel factorys, and at a certain time they’re going to detonate all the dolls!!! Christmas??!!??! oh, man, that would be messed up.

  6. Jana says:

    The information of the religious statements made by any toy should be advertised on the box. I would be very upset to purchase a doll for my child and find it portrayed a message that contradicted my religious beliefs.

    Mattell should change the packing to inform the consumer.

  7. Kirk says:

    I heard the doll ,it does say it .I do think americans will someday wake up and see Islam is taking over their country.Just like the financial crisis after it is over they will realize.The one good thing about this is the economy is so bad there not many people can afford to buy the doll.

  8. Hillel says:

    I agree with tracey…if it has been advertized as such (as a doll with religous message), then there is no elemnet of deception or ‘hiding something under a pretext’.

    Now, Emilio has said something which cannot be proven — that ‘Stairway to Heraven’ has a subliminal message? May I know wher you got your information from? Must be from the biggest religoius group wose main HQ is in Rome? ‘Stairway to heaven’ is a song whose lyrics depicts the powerful individuals who tries to buy their way thru almost anything. Emilio, examine the facts and do not GOSSIP.

  9. Hillel says:

    I apologize for not checking my spelling above…I was in a hurry. Here it goes again…

    I agree with tracey an Jana…if it has been advertized as such (as a doll with religous message), then there would not be an element of deception. Informed consumers can then exercise their freedom to choose.

    Now, Emilio said something which cannot be proven — that ‘Stairway to Heaven’ has a subliminal message? May I know where you got that information from? Must be from the biggest religious group whose main HQ is in Rome? ‘Stairway to heaven’ is a song whose lyrics depict the powerful individuals who tries to buy their way thru almost anything, including the way to heaven.

    Emilio, pls. examine your ‘facts’ and do not engage in GOSSIP. “Thou shall not bear false witness against your neighbor”.

  10. Bradley says:

    The reason that it is not funny, and should be taken serious is this…

    If the doll said something like, “Christianity is salvation”, or “Jesus is Love”, and did not have this fact on the packaging/advertising; the out rage from groups like the ACLU would have gotten the product pulled within days.

    Other religions should not get a free-pass when Christianity is openly assaulted and attacked with out regard.

  11. jeffbiss says:

    Bradley,

    Why do you mention the ACLU? It seems that you are ignorant as to what their function is. The ACLU simply contests the constitutionality of legislation and helps ensure that our rights are not infringed upon. They go to court to force the courts to do their job as the bulwark against the tyranny of the majority.

    This incident has no constitutionality issue yet, and the ACLU doesn’t assault Christianity.

  12. Eleni says:

    The last thing I want is a doll stating that “islam is the Light”…..number one because islam is DARKNESS…just ask those in Saudi Arabia or under the Taliban who get caught with a Bible…. or a wrist or ankle showing under their robes.
    This little doll needs to go to Gitmo.

  13. jackie says:

    Ha!! As i read down this list of comments i realize the ignorance of so many people and it really makes me sad to think that these people are alowed to vote. i saw something that someone wrote that stated “if the doll had said christianity is the light would it be as big a deal?” let me tell you something darlin.. it would have been a bigger deal! your ignorance is astounding. the protest that would have come about had it said anything about christianity and it would have been by the thousands.. and the ACLU would have been front and center! and as for you jeffbiss.. you have either copied that message you wrote word for word from another site i saw or you are the same person.. but your statement about the ACLU… it’s obvious you are just an empty headed follower who cannot think for him/herself. The ACLU is a commie run organization that is there to aggitate and create problems for the true american culture.. they are there to specifically breakdown the system with there lawsuits and there protest to get slow ignorant mush heads like you to put out and support their agenda. they hate this country and what it stands for and they want to take over. they prey on the weak minded because they are the easiest to aggitate. and you my darling fell right in line. big surprise. hey if they lined up at the edge of a cliff and said we are gonna jump for “equality” would you jump? sheeple like yourself… you’d be the first in line!

  14. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  15. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  16. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  17. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  18. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  19. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  20. […] just the sound track, and involves the entire the Cuddle and Coo doll project. According to the Muslim ex-Marine who blogs as 5-Pillar Column, Mattel’s doll is also wearing a “hijab” (used by […]

  21. […] Muslim blogger claims Mattel doll is wearing a hijab […]

  22. Quran says:

    really cool blog mashAllah. i really liked it.

  23. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Regards!

  24. I simply couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I really loved the usual info a person supply on your visitors? Is going to be back regularly to check out new posts.

  25. acnelighee says:

    , , , ,

  26. Thank you for every other excellent article. Where else may anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal way of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  27. […] heuer monaco tag heuer monaco gulf tag heuer monza tag heuer outlet tag heuer phone tag heuer pilot tag heuer prezzi tag heuer prices malaysia tag heuer professional tag heuer replica […]

  28. […] ladies seiko 861405 seiko american heritage dictionary seiko automatic seiko automatik seiko chronograph seiko clocks seiko cornuto seiko dive watches seiko diver Click here to cancel […]

  29. Invest Malaysia Properties…

    […]Mattel says talking doll doesn’t promote Islam « 5-Pillar Column[…]…

  30. source says:

    I experimented with looking at your website with my ipod touch and the format doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not working with your web page.

  31. Right here is the right blog for anybody who hopes to find out about
    this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue
    with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject which has been discussed for many years.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  32. Great info. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve book-marked it for later!|

  33. Rossana says:

    I like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve you guys to my blogroll.|

  34. Thanks for the article, can I set it up so I get an update sent in an email when you make a fresh post?

Leave a comment