Six Years in Guantanamo

Sami al-Haj, an Al Jazeera cameraman, was beaten, abused and humiliated in the name of the war on terror. He tells our correspondent about his struggle to rebuild a shattered life…

“We know you are innocent, you are here by mistake,” he says he was told in more than 200 interrogations. “All they wanted was for me to be a spy for them. They said they would give me US citizenship, that my wife and child could live in America, that they would protect me. But I said: ‘I will not do this – first of all because I’m a journalist and this is not my job and because I fear for myself and my family. In war, I can be wounded and I can die or survive. But if I work with you, al-Qa’ida will eliminate me. And if I don’t work with you, you will kill me’.”  >>>>>

Multiply Sami-Al Haj by at least tens of thousands.  These are those who suffered only because they were part of a population that Americans perceived to believe in a God, and just so happens to be in the way of a live ‘Stratego’ game — and of course, lived to tell about it.

How about those that reach over 1,000,000 worldwide who never got a chance to make a deal with the government because they were too busy catching bombs while in the middle of funeral processions or wedding festivities — or sleeping; or praying for world peace?  Probably even more sad is the mental and otherwise enslavement of the masses who think they have gotten away unscathed.

Soon enough, joining the enslaved, will be those who cheered for the destructive shock and awe; and gave all their support for these efforts based on a false or twisted sense of patriotism and lack of true understanding how their contribution to the conspiracy for these war crimes – no matter how insignificant – will come back to haunt them by the very same people sworn to protect them from living in an unjust society.  The U.S. used its own citizens to become the pep rally for world domination…it started long ago; when we were told to believe, “we are the No. 1 Super Power in the world.”

By the time this economic ‘bailout’ fiasco is signed; only then will it barely reach the outskirts of critical mass numbers that the U.S. citizenry were used as pawns for the same kind of in-house tyranny we swore to stand up against.  What did you think those founding forefathers meant when incorporating the term “…defend the Constitution and laws of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic…”  Can we do some ‘real profiling’ to determine who our domestic enemies are?

3 Responses to Six Years in Guantanamo

  1. Gayle Staton says:

    I have scoured all over the www looking for interesting ideas, i think your site is well informed and i would love for us to colaborate on the subject further.

  2. Reece says:

    Sorry for that huge review, but I’m really loving the brand new Zune, and hope this, along with the excellent reviews another individuals have written, will help you decide if it is the right choice for you.

  3. I was hunting on google and I stumbled in your internet site. Beneficial content you will have right here. I have shared it to my good friend who was searching for this kind of info. I am really sure this will benefit him a great deal.

Leave a Reply

